Testimonials

Reviews from yelp

posted Oct 27, 2013, 1:42 AM by Stephen Wong

  • Photo of Jim Hyung L.

    Culver City, CA

    5.0 star rating
     5/23/2013

    So I'm the brother of the reviewer Joy below she referenced as being a referral. It's amazing to have heard the stories she would share about refinancing. Over and over again, as the rates dropped she would refi. 

    Though I had refied with someone else before, I liked how everything was handled with detail according to my sister.  Steven worked late at night and seemed to be there to answer questions when via email want enough. 

    He was a machine with me and we ended up refinancing twice with him. Each time easier as he was able to use prior documents when needed. He was very efficient and didn't make me do paperwork just to apply for something he didn't think made sense. 

    His analytical skills were great at making sure we took the best option and even provided insights to properly locking in the rates. All while providing top notch support. 

    If you're looking at a refi. Have no fear when working with Steven. Thank. 

    Ps my house was in LA while refi was done in Berkeley where I was working at the time. Location was not a problem.

  • Review fromJoy L.

    Photo of Joy L.
    • 6friends
    • 82reviews

    Berkeley, CA

    5.0 star rating
     5/21/2013

    I have used Stephen multiple time over the last 5 years to refinance our house for two reasons: 1) He'll get you a deal, 2) Not only is he very responsive during the refinance process (I've found that email works best for me), but also we can rely on him to contact us to see if we want to refinance again when the rate is favorable. 

    I've referred him to several of my friends, including my brother, and they all have used him.

  • Review fromHung P.

    Photo of Hung P.
    • 35friends
    • 7reviews

    San Ramon, CA

    5.0 star rating
     5/21/2013

    Stephen just recently helped me obtained a loan, and closed on escrow 2 weeks ago.

    He was quick and prompt to all my questions and concerns. He looked out for my best interest. He'd made sure all my docs were in kept, and that I got the best rate with the maximum closing credit.

    There were many late night emails I sent to him, and he was still awake and replied within seconds. Contacting him has been a breeze for him. 

    His assistant is very well informed. It seems like his team knew what they were doing.

    I went through several broker, and Stephen got me the best deal!

  • Review fromAlvin T.

    Photo of Alvin T.
    • 0friends
    • 1review

    Daly City, CA

    5.0 star rating
     10/24/2013

    Stephen Wong has been extremely helpful on my initial mortgages of my houses and my mortgage refinancing.  Not only had he helped us find the bank with the best interest rate for our house, but also follows up very thoroughly.  He was helpful and good that I had many friends and family members contacted him for his service and professional expertise.  Highly recommended.

  • Review fromHeasoon K.

    Photo of Heasoon K.
    • 1friend
    • 11reviews

    Berkeley, CA

    5.0 star rating
     10/22/2013

    I used Stephen for a refi.  This guy is quick!  I mean, he must check his emails every five minutes or something b/c whenever I send him an email, he is very quick to respond.  He is on top of it.  He is organized and knows exactly what you need.  He really keeps the ball rolling and he gets it done!  The notary he works with comes to your house!  AND has evening hours!  Such as bonus if you are a parent or work full time.  The most painless experiences dealing through a complex process.

  • Review fromnicky w.

    Photo of nicky w.
    • 21friends
    • 19reviews

    Daly City, CA

    5.0 star rating
     10/21/2013

    I'm really thankful to Stephen for helping me refinance my home. I was very worried and naïve about the refinance process, but Stephen was very professional and always made me feel as though he had my best interests at heart. His friendly attitude and responsiveness was a welcomed surprise. He answered all my questions patiently and thoroughly, He led me through the refinance process and explained things to me in simple and "easy to understand" terms. I am sincerely thankful to Stephen for helping me save money for my family. I highly recommend Stephen to anyone interested in refinancing!

  • Review fromKris I.

    Photo of Kris I.
    • 11friends
    • 1review

    Irvine, CA

    5.0 star rating
     10/20/2013

    Stephen is extremely helpful and he always looks for his clients' best interests. My family and friends have saved a lot of money thru the home loan refinance services he provided to us! Highly recommended! Thank!:)

  • Review fromEllen N.

    Photo of Ellen N.
    • 0friends
    • 17reviews

    Palo Alto, CA

    5.0 star rating
     10/21/2013

    Stephen is honest, responsive and smart.  we have refined with him many times and we highly recommend him to anyone.  He always answers e-mails and phone calls any time any day.  It is very nice to have someone to respond to you right away for any questions.   Thanks so much for your help.  He deserves a 5 stars.

  • Review fromAndrew N.

    Photo of Andrew N.
    • 1friend
    • 2reviews

    San Francisco, CA

    5.0 star rating
     8/5/2013

    Awesome experience!  Stephen is not only helpful and honest, he is also extremely knowledgable about the entire process.  He will walk you through all of the details and puts everything in writing so you don't feel like he's trying to pull a bait/switch.  

    He is the 4th broker I've worked with and by far the best.  Highly recommended.

  • Review fromBrandon Y.

    Photo of Brandon Y.
    • 13friends
    • 59reviews

    Alameda, CA

    5.0 star rating
     5/21/2013

    Stephen is very receptive to your questions.  You can send him an email late at night and you will get a response in minutes.  

    Finds you the best rate for the lowest cost.  

    Sells you  the best option for your situation.  

    Even when you have documentation that is not clear to the lender. He help you thru it.  Even helping you write the letters to the lender.  

    I have used him since 2010.  I tried to use the bank but that person kept messing up the application and was not very responsive.  

    Most of our many refinances were closed in a month.

  • Review fromKim N.

    Photo of Kim N.
    • 2friends
    • 17reviews

    San Jose, CA

    5.0 star rating
     6/14/2013

    I can't say enough positive things about Taklam (aka Stephen Wong). I'll try to break it down into pieces:

    Customer Service - Always responsive at all hours of the day. He called and followed up on all issues quickly. It was the most painless refinance I experienced. We did run into some trouble with the appraiser, lowballing my home value. Taklam was sincere and challenged the appraiser since we had numerous comparables that indicated my house was work 100K more than I had bought it. The appraiser mainly based my appraised value on a home that was not similar and had been listed for 2-3 years as a foreclosure. Obviously something was wrong with that particular house!!! Basically the appraiser didn't do a very thorough job, so we ended up having to re-order and go through a different lender.

    The 2nd time around, everything went smoothly. My house was appraised correctly at 110K above my purchase price. When it was time for closing, all I had to do was stay home and the notary arrived at my house. I didn't have to pay a penny for anything. I didn't even have to drive to the Title company to sign any documents. I did everything conveniently at the comfort of my own home. Again, Taklam is very knowledge, friendly, thorough and will find the right loan for you. 

    Process & Timeliness - Everything was completed within a month, from initial documentation to signing. 

    Anyways, this man has a great heart and really extends out to go above and beyond out of his way to help you. Every time I ran into any issues, he was there to assist. I had a nightmare with the broker I used for my house purchase and was talking to a friend and that's how I stumbled upon Taklam.  Although he wasn't  my broker for my house purchase, he still answered all my questions and tried to resolve my issues with that horrible broker. I wish I had used him sooner............ He gets an A++ in my book and that's why I kept him in mind for my refinance.

    Use him and you won't have any issues nor pay any fees.

  • Review fromMiyuki F.

    Photo of Miyuki F.
    • 0friends
    • 1review

    San Bruno, CA

    5.0 star rating
     5/29/2013

    I recommend Stephen as a complete real estate loan service.
    I've known him since 2005. He has helped me and my friends for much real estate finance/refinance. 

    He is detailed, responsive (he is on top of everything and always quick response!), accurate, caring (all service are sent to me, Stephen would dispute if my house is not apprised correctly for the market price so it's corrected) and real! 

    Some of my friends who were wishing to get into purchasing their first home but they were not ready financially. Stephen advises you how to be ready and for a better timing for you after he reviews your financial situation. He won't just sell you any product that he could make money out of you but he would advise you. 

    I wish I knew him for my first home loan. I was charged high rate and junk fees. 
    I didn't know much about home loan at that time. 

    At the end of the day, you only need to know a trustworthy loan broker.
    I trust Stephen completely. He has all my information (everything!) but I have no worries and so happy to work with him and his staff, his notary service comes to wherever I chose.

  • Review fromHong T.

    Photo of Hong T.
    • 20friends
    • 8reviews

    San Jose, CA

    5.0 star rating
     5/21/2013

    I never know refinancing a house can be that easy.  My friends kept telling me all these bad experiences with refinancing the house and that the bank kept delaying the process.  Luckily, I got Stephen to help me.  He answered all the questions I had, and gave me the best option for my situation.  I got my new loan completed in last than a month with a much much better rate!!  He even took an extra mile to follow up with me even after my refinance is completed to ensure that I understand the numbers on the eschew document; that's great customer service!!!!  I will definitely refer him to my friends who in need for getting a new loan =)

  • Review fromLinda Z.

    Photo of Linda Z.
    • 33friends
    • 5reviews

    San Francisco, CA

    5.0 star rating
     6/13/2013

    stephen is always so helpful. He helped me refinanced my property twice, very detail oriented, and always reply any of my question quickly. highly recommended!

  • Review fromWesley B.

    Photo of Wesley B.
    • 4friends
    • 1review

    Alameda, CA

    5.0 star rating
     5/21/2013

    Stephen works tirelessly for his clients. We've used him multiple times, passed him on to friends and family, never had anything but great results with him. He's responsive, a great planner and looks ahead in the process, catching potential issues and making sure they never happen. He's also gone to bat for friends with a reluctant realtor and made sure they're doing what they should to represent their clients, and get the deal closed.

  • Review fromJenny C.

    Photo of Jenny C.
    • 0friends
    • 2reviews

    San Jose, CA

    5.0 star rating
     5/20/2013 First to Review

    Stephen has been our loan agent for past several years. He's an excellent agent constantly looking out for us. Whenever the interest rate dips, he would contact us and advise us on refinancing. He's very professional, and efficient.

Reviews from Yelp

posted Oct 27, 2013, 1:41 AM by Stephen Wong

5.0 star rating 
  • Photo of Kevin P.
    • 0friends
    • 2reviews
    • Kevin P.                                     
      5.0 star rating
       7/17/2013

San Francisco, CA

I've known Stephen for 12 years and he has done most (if not all) of my family's loans, home purchases/sales and refinances.  He is my go-to agent for all things real estate... and, because he is so amazing, he is now the sole agent to many of my friends and coworkers.

Stephen's Top 3 attributes:

1.  Efficient - He gets things done and gets them done quickly.  My last transaction was a townhome sale and it could not have been more complex. I was in Asia, my business partner was in the States, there was a family trust involved, etc etc... it didn't matter, he got it done.  Due to the timezone difference, we'd have calls at all hours of the day and night, sometimes at 3AM PT.  He was executing our deal even while on his family vacation in Florida!  Needless to say, within 1 week, the home was staged and, after only 1 open house weekend, we had multiple offers and several all-cash offers... and closed escrow in 15 DAYS!!!  (Btw, the home is currently the highest transaction to close in the entire community.)

2.  Proactive - Stephen always proactively calls to advise when interest rates are low and when I should consider a refi.  Since I live in Asia, I'm not on top of the Bay Area real estate market and he called to advise me on selling one of my properties (which ended up closing well over asking price).

3.  Trustworthy - Stephen is a sincere agent... and friend.  I trust him with my entire real estate portfolio. He is a wealth of information, but never pushy.  He always provides an appropriate amount of information, and leaves it to me the client to make an informed decision.

Photo of Sid D.
  • 0friends
  • 3reviews
  • Sid D.

Oakland, CA

5.0 star rating
 6/26/2013

I've have used Stephen many times and appreciate how he keeps us up to date when the rate is good for our home.  I have referred him to many of my friends and they all love working with him as much as I do.  He is reliable, honest, and quick to respond to my questions.  It's always great to know that someone is available and enjoys helping others.  He even helped us write a letter to our lender in the late hour of the night!

Photo of Evan P.
  • 0friends
  • 5reviews
  • Evan P.

Oakland, CA

5.0 star rating
 6/6/2013

Stephen is really good! He stay on top of issues and very responsive. He is patient with his clients and take time to answer any questions. I do not speak Cantonese and language was not an issue, just need a little patient on both side. And I'm glad I did.

I've been contacting many loan agencies soon after my Condo purchase closed. Some loan agencies took my information and went silent. Some simply ignored my emails. But Stephen was very encourage. He successfully helped me refinance and switched from 15 y.f. to 30 y.f. and got me a good rate.

Thumbs up for Stephen!

Photo of Colon C.
  • 0friends
  • 2reviews
  • Colon C.

Ontario, CA

5.0 star rating
 6/4/2013

I refinanced with Stephen 7 times in the past 4 years. He is very fast and honest, he will get you the best rate available. He coordinates all paper work and closing per your schedule.

Photo of Will L.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • Will L.

San Francisco, CA

5.0 star rating
 6/1/2013

I have a temporary job and no banks would approve my loan, luckily my friend referred Stephen to me. Stephen tried three different banks and got my loan approved with the best interest rate. He is SUPER FAST in replying back through email.

Photo of David W.
  • 0friends
  • 3reviews
  • David W.

San Ramon, CA

5.0 star rating
 5/31/2013

Stephen Wong has been helping me for both new loan and refinancing. He always does his best to give me the best rate. Also he is very patient to explain what I don't understand.  He knows what he is doing. I saved a lot of money during last 5 years. Highly recommended!!!

Photo of Raymond L.
  • 1friend
  • 1review
  • Raymond L.

Rancho Cucamonga, CA

5.0 star rating
 5/29/2013

Bay One has been great help for my real estate needs and provided me outstanding service over last 10 years.  Stephen specializes in refinance, new loan and new purchase.  He guided me thru two entire process of property purchases and many refinances making sure i completely understood step by step.  Even I live in Los Angeles, there was no problem at all for all transactions using faxes, emails and phone.

Photo of Andreas P.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • Andreas P.

Berkeley, CA

5.0 star rating
 5/21/2013

Stephen is an exceptional loan broker. He promptly answers my emails, even during late hours. He closed escrow on my latest refinance under very stressful circumstances, delivering earlier than the required deadline. His explanation of everything is always very clear and concise, alleviating you of any concerns you may have. I would definitely recommend him to anyone, 100% guaranteed.

Photo of Dorothy F.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • Dorothy F.

Porter Ranch, CA

5.0 star rating
 5/21/2013

Reliable, honest, efficient, responsive.  Hassle free way to refinance with a real pro. I am in LA and distance was not a problem.

Photo of Amie G.
  • 0friends
  • 7reviews
  • Amie G.

Fremont, CA

5.0 star rating
 5/21/2013

Stephen is incredibly amazing.  I've used him for the past few years for several refinance (basically once every 6 months when rates go down...)  You just need to contact him and let him know you want to refinance, then he takes care of the rest, regardless of how tricky the situation is - we've had change of employment, leave status, work at foreign country, etc. during the refinance and he gets everything settled.  He's so responsive (seriously he responds within minutes even when I send him an email at 12am in the morning) and ensures that you get the best rate possible.  I do find his grammar a little odd, so sometimes I have to re-read his emails to understand what he's saying.  But that doesn't really matter because he can always get you the best results in the shortest time.  I am so happy with the rate and the service.

Review from Yelp

posted Oct 27, 2013, 1:40 AM by Stephen Wong


  • 0friends
  • 7reviews
  • Monica W.

Ontario, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/23/2013

Stephen is the BEST refinance agent in the bay area!! He helped my family in re-infinancing my house in LA for a few times and get us the best deal ever. He saved me lots of money in my mortage payment and his service was excellent ! I couldn't be more happier. Thanks Stephen for your professional service, I highly recommend him to all my friends and family.

Photo of Gesse M.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • Gesse M.

San Leandro, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/22/2013

I have used Stephen a couple of times to Refi my home.  I am very happy with his service.  Stephen is very professional, does his job passionately.  He is very responsive, works 24/7 to get the best rate for his clients.  He is reachable at any time of the day to answer my questions and concerns in detail.  He gives all the options for his clients explaining the pros & cons for each option.  You do not even have to meet him in person if you are one of those people who want to do everything electronically-both times I did my paper work and sent the docs via e-mail.  I strongly recommend him for anybody who needs mortgage loan or Refi his or her home.  You won't regret working with him.

Photo of Vicky L.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • Vicky L.

Temple City, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/22/2013

My husband and I are extremely grateful to be introduced to Stephen last year to refinance our home.   He got us the best rate and save us lots of money.  

Stephen's professionalism, loan refinancing knowledge and customer service skill are superb.  Like many reviewer stated, he always looks out for his clients' best interests.  He is very informative, always updating you with the status of the refinancing  and where he's at with the paperwork.  He is very responsive and very patient with any kind of questions or paper works delay you may have.  He is extremely helpful with the entire refinancing process.   We have the most satisfying refinancing experience with Stephen.  We often don't see such outstanding customer services now a day, it's nice to know that someone really care about you refinancing.  Thank you Stephen SO MUCH Stephen!!!!!!!!!!!

Photo of JianL D.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • JianL D.

San Leandro, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/22/2013

I just finished refinancing of my condo with the help of Stephen Wong last month.  This is the 2nd time he helped me for refinancing. I have never met he and we just contact via internet or by phone. It is easier and comforted. A lot of time I contact Stephen Wong at late time in the evening and he always reply quickly.  He explains all about ref. of my loan and answers all questions I ask. I had contacted another real estate agents before, but they seem not interest in my small loan. Now my ref. closed. I am happy I pay less more than 30% than before. It is great! I must say thank you to Stephen again for his good job.  I have referred him to my neighbor and will refer to my friends too .

Photo of Edwin L.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • Edwin L.

Martinez, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/21/2013

he is bi-lingual, chinese and english, very pro, thorough followup and instant response on every single email/text. you sent him an email at 1am, he replied at 1:01am. no matter big or small loan amount, you will get the same attention and outstanding service. once you closed one deal via him, you will stick with him. Last week done on the refi of my investment condo and just refer him to my son's purchase.

Photo of Phoebe W.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • Phoebe W.

Richmond, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/21/2013

My friend recommended Stephen to me as my first loan agent; he had concerned my best interests and quick replies to my questions. Thanks to him for my first successful loan.

Photo of W Y.
  • 0friends
  • 2reviews
  • W Y.

Daly City, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/21/2013

We know Stephen from referral of our friend.  We have done several refinancing on our home loan and mortgage on our investment property.  Stephen is thorough and quick.  He has a lot of knowledge on financing and always think a step ahead for us.  When we have questions, he always give us answers and provide us extra advices and professional suggestions.  We are very satisfied with his service and definitely recommending him to our good friends.

Photo of Wei Y.
  • 0friends
  • 1review
  • Wei Y.

Sunnyvale, CA

5.0 star rating
 10/20/2013

Stephen has been our loan agent for a long time. He did refinance for both our primary house and investment properties multiple time. He is very knowledgeable as what lenders are looking for and very thorough during the process. On top of it, he offers the best rate!

Photo of Colon C.
  • 0friends
  • 2reviews
  • Colon C.

Ontario, CA

5.0 star rating
 Update - 7/25/2013

I refinanced several properties with Stephen 7 times in the past 4 years. He is very fast and honest, he will get you the best rate available. He coordinates all paper work and closing per your schedule.

1 Previous Review: Show all »

  • 5.0 star rating
    6/4/2013

    I refinanced with Stephen 7 times in the past 4 years. He is very fast and honest, he will get you… Read more »

Photo of Raymond L.
  • 1friend
  • 1review
  • Raymond L.

Rancho Cucamonga, CA

5.0 star rating
 Update - 7/23/2013

Bay One has been great help for my real estate needs and provided me outstanding service over last 10 years.  Stephen specializes in refinance, new loan and new purchase.  He guided me through two entire process of property purchases and many refinances making sure I completely understood step by step.  Even I live in Los Angeles, there was no problem at all for all transactions using faxes, emails and phone.

1 Previous Review: Show all »

  • 5.0 star rating
    5/29/2013

    Bay One has been great help for my real estate needs and provided me outstanding service over last… Read more »

1-3 of 3